Coolidge Merit Exchange

The Coolidge Scholarship is not alone in its recognition of academic merit. These other scholarship programs also hold academic merit as a chief scholarship value. We’re happy to point you to these other prestigious scholarship programs.

The Morehead-Cain Scholarship

The Morehead-Cain Scholarship is the first merit scholarship founded in the United States and strives to provide an undergraduate experience like no other. A four-year merit scholarship to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the Morehead-Cain covers the full cost of attendance, funds four distinct learning experiences as part of its Summer Enrichment Program, and provides additional educational grants for scholars through its Discovery Fund.

Morehead-Cain Scholars come from around the world and are chosen based on four criteria: leadership, moral force of character, scholarship, and physical vigor.

The Robertson Scholarship

The Robertson Scholarship provides a four year scholarship, covering tuition, room and board, and mandatory fees at either Duke University or the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The program includes three domestic and international experiences, customized leadership and development opportunities, and unique access to academic and extracurricular activities at both Duke and UNC-Chapel Hill. Scholars spend a semester of their sophomore year on their sister campus.

Robertson Scholars are selected based upon their leadership ability, intellectual curiosity, strength of character, and a collaborative spirit. Students apply directly to the scholarship.

The Jefferson Scholarship

Awarded based upon merit, the Jefferson undergraduate scholarship covers the entire cost of attendance for four years at the University of Virginia. In addition, the award includes an annual stipend to cover room, board, academic fees, and additional enrichment experiences. Applicants cannot directly apply, but instead must be nominated.

Boston University Trustee Scholarship

The Trustee Scholarship is Boston University’s most prestigious merit-based award. It recognizes students who have shown outstanding academic and leadership abilities. Each year, 20 new scholars are selected. The scholarship, which is renewable for four years, covers full undergraduate tuition and fees at Boston University.

Lyceum Scholars Program

The Lyceum Scholars program is facilitated through the Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism at Clemson University. To enter the program, candidates must apply and be accepted to Clemson University as freshmen. Lyceum Scholars are selected based upon high intellectual caliber, as demonstrated through academic achievement, intellectual engagement, and an interest in the subject matter of the Lyceum Scholars Program.

Scholars receive a $10,000 scholarship to be used over four years and admittance to the Lyceum Scholars Program which offers an eight course curriculum, where they will study the moral principles of a free society, the political ideals of the American Founding, and the economic foundations of capitalism.

The Stamps Scholars Program

The Stamps Foundation funds multi-year, undergraduate scholarships at nearly 40 partner schools across the U.S. In addition, Stamps Scholars also receive monetary funds to use for their academic and professional development. Scholars are selected based upon academic merit, strong leadership potential, and exceptional character. Financial need is not a consideration. To apply to the Stamps Scholarship, students must apply directly to a partner school.

The Carson Scholars Program

The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4 through 11 who excel academically and show a dedication to serving their communities. Scholarships are awarded solely based on academic achievement and humanitarian values. Students who are interested in the scholarship, must be nominated by their school or an educator.